Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Harriet(t) Clark(e) Holbeach area Lincs b abt 1855

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Julie

Julie Report 23 Aug 2011 19:55

This my first post seeking help.
I am relatively new to family history research & I am hoping those with more experience out there can help me make sense of the pieces I have located so far & possibly suggest where I go from here in trying to find missing pieces of the puzzle.

My great grandfather John William Clark(e) married Louisa Cunnington in 1900, I have traced their marriage to Holbeach Hurn & have a copy of the marriage certificate. This shows the father of John William as William Hull.

The 1911 census entry at Holbeach Hurn for John W & family lists not only his wife & children but Rose Ellen & Alfred Hayes as brother & sister in law, at 17 &15 they are clearly not in the way we use these terms today. I have traced these 2 to a census entry in 1901 at nearby Whaplode, along with mother Harriet Hayes & older siblings William, Harry, Arthur & Robert & a lodger Robert Hull. Harriet is shown as married but has no husband listed with her & the family. A death regn for a Harriet Hayes in 1902 at Holbeach may explain why the youngest 2 Hayes were living with their older half-brother in 1911.