Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

GU newbie

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Helen23a

Helen23a Report 19 Apr 2018 19:32

I am new to this but have recently put up quite an extensive tree and there are obviously a number of members who have my direct ancestors in their trees, whole branches in some cases - with all dates/birth places correct. I was quite surprised by this and imagined these common connections would be of interest to these members as well (that is why we are all here, isn't it?) But the messages I have sent so far have not received any response. I am feeling a bit disappointed and wondered if there is something else I should be doing to get this started. Thanks Everyone

SylviaInCanada

SylviaInCanada Report 19 Apr 2018 20:48

Welcome Helen

First, you have to realise that GR never deletes a member or trees belonging to a member unless there has been a serious transgression of site rules.

This means that trees will remain for ever and a day unless the member does it personally, or gives a trusted family member or friend the information on how to do.